Can ‘experience’ be designed? - Eight Inc.

Can ‘experience’ be designed?

By Matt Judge فبراير 17, 2016

يمكن اعتبار التجارب كردود فعل تجاه لحظات تمرّ في حياة الإنسان. وهي لحظات يمكن تشاطرها مع الغير، لكنها نادراً ما تكون متشابهة. في الواقع، تشكّل التجارب مسألة شخصية إلى القصى الحدود، تحدّدها فوارق دقيقة في مجموعة معتقداتنا (التي تحدّدها تجاربنا، ممّا يزيد المسألة تعقيداً)، أي أنّه على مستوى التفاصيل الدقيقة، ما من تجربتين متشابهتين.

مصطلح “التجربة” في سياق العمل والمستهلك ليس بالجديد. فعام 1998، بشّر جوزف باين وجيمز غيلمور ببروز “اقتصاد التجارب” في مقالتهما التي أثارت جدلاً في مجلة “هارفرد بزنس ريفيو”، إذ ذكرا فيها أنّ المؤسسات التي تتواصل مع جمهورها على مستوى عاطفي وشامل أكثر تكسب علاقات مجدية ومربحة ودائمة أكثر.

رافق هذه الرؤية ظهور جيل جديد من المستهلك، جيلٌ احتياجاته وتوقّعاته من العالم حوله تغيّرت جذرياً بفعل الاحتمالات والإمكانيات التي تحملها معها التكنولوجيا في الوقت الحاضر. فقد أصبح المستهلك أكثر اطّلاعاً وأقل وفاءً، تعتريه رغبة في أن يملي هو الشروط التي تحدّد تعامله مع المؤسسات. وهو مستهلك يفضّل الحوار وليس المناجاة، والمرونة وليس الاحتكاك، والتجارب وليس الأغراض.

“78 في المئة من جيل الألفية يفضّل دفع المال لقاء التجارب عوضاً عن السلع المادية” – شركة “هاريس” للاستطلاع، عام 2015

يمثّل “جيل الألفية” اليوم غالبية المستهلكين والقوى العاملة في الولايات المتحدة الأميركية، لذا ليس من المفاجئ أن تدرك المؤسسات قيمة التجربة المصمّمة والمدروسة، كما أدركت قيمة “العلامة” قبل ذلك. وتبرز القيمة أيضاً لأن التجربة تجسّد قيمها تجسيداً إنسانياً أصيلاً وتدرك أنّ كسب الولاء يكون بالأفعال وليس الأقوال. ومثلما عانى مفهوم “بناء العلامة” ليميّز نفسه عن “هوية الشركة”، يشيع نوعاً ما لغط أيضاً حول مصطلح “التجربة”.

أمّا السبب الذي دفعني إلى كتابة هذا المقال، فهو الردّ على رأي ورَد على موقع “لينكد إن” يشجب “تصميم التجارب”، مدعياً بوضوح أنّه من الخطأ تبنّي مسؤولية مسألة تحدّدها قيم شخصية جوهرية. وأنا أوافق هذا الرأي إلى حدّ ما. فالتجربة عبارة عن نتيجة، وليس تخصّص، ولا يستطيع أحد تصميم تجربة واحدة تُفسّر بالطريقة ذاتها حول العالم.

لكن قد تكون المسألة مسألة وجهات نظر لا أكثر. فنحن جميعاً نبتكر تجاربنا الخاصة، من الملابس التي نرتديها، إلى الكلمات التي نتفوّه بها، إلى الأمكان التي نقصدها والناس الذين نتعامل معهم. قد لا “نصمّم” بالضرورة كل جزء من هذه التجربة، لكنّنا نشرف عليها ونعرضها، فتولّد مجتمعةً تجربة أصيلة خاصة بنا. لذا ما المانع من أن تقوم علامة أو مؤسسة ما بالأمر ذاته؟ ولمَ لا يساهم “التصميم” في الإشراف على ذلك؟

ولا تتشكّل تجربة المرء حيال مؤسسة ما من خلال واحدة من وظائفها، بل من خلال تلاقي عدّة أبعاد تؤدي إلى بروز عالم التجربة. وتبرز نقاط التلاقي هذه على شكل منتجات وخدمات ومساحات واتصالات وسلوكيّات، كلها مدعومة بأنظمة وعمليات ناشئة عن القيم الثقافية التي تجسّدها المؤسسة.

تقوم مجموعة قليلة من المؤسسات التقدّمية بتمكين المجموعات أو الأفراد ضمن صفوفها من أجل الحثّ على بلوغ بيئة تجارب تتمحور أكثر حول البشر، فتجمع اختصاصاتهم المتعدّدة لتتمكّن هذه الشركات من التفكير والتصرّف بشمولية ومراعاة احتياجات موظّفيهم ومستهلكيها. وتلجأ شركات أخرى إلى شركاء مفكّرين خارجيين (على غرار شركة “إيت”) للقيام بهذه المهمّة. ويتمحور هذا حول المزج بين النباهة في العمل وبين الإبداعية لتحدّي المؤسسات الاعتيادية وتقديم تجربة متميّزة . فإذا لم يكن دورنا في ابتكار هذه البيئات بمثابة “تصميم تجارب”، فما هو إذاً؟

يعتمد التفكير التقليدي على اختيار دور ما لوصف نشاطه. فإذا كانت التجارب تتأثر بما يفعله الآخرون، أيجدر بنا أن نطلق على نفسنا اسم “مصمّمي الأفعال”؟ لا شكّ أن الموضوع مضحك جداً. لذا قد يكون مصطلح “هندسة التجارب” أفضل وأكثر تواضعاً، أليس كذلك؟ وتتمحور هذه التسمية حول ابتكار إطار عمل تولد منه النتائج العاطفية المرجوة، عوضاً عن تصميم النتيجة نفسها.

لكنّني لم أكن يوماً من محبّذي إطلاق الأسماء. فبرأي التصنيفات مضجرة ومقيّدة. بما أنّ “التجربة” نفسها تحدّدها الأفعال وليس الأقوال، ربّما يجدر بنا أن نطلق على نفسنا اسم “مصمّمين” فقط، وندع ثمار عملنا، ومخيّلة الآخرين، تطلق التوصيفات.

Matt Judge is a Principal in Eight Inc.'s London studio

Can ‘experience’ be designed? - Eight Inc.

Can ‘experience’ be designed?

By Matt Judge Feb 17, 2016

Experiences are our emotional responses to moments in our lives. They can be shared but are rarely identical. In fact, they are entirely personal — shaped by the nuances in our belief systems (which in turn, just to complicate matters, are shaped by our experiences) which means, at their most granular level, no two experiences are the same.

The term ‘Experience’ in relation to business and consumers isn’t new. In 1998 Joseph Pine and James Gilmore heralded the arrival of ‘The Experience Economy’ in their controversial HBR essay, recognising those businesses that connect with their audience on a more holistic, emotional level will foster more memorable, meaningful and rewarding relationships.

This perspective accompanied the emergence of a new generation. One whose needs and expectations of the world around them has been radically changed by the possibilities emerging technologies present. As a consumer they are more informed, less loyal, and with a desire to dictate the terms they engage with businesses upon. Dialogue not monologue. Fluidity not friction. Experiences not objects.

“78 percent of millennials would rather pay for an experience than material goods” -Harris Poll, 2015

Today these ‘Millennials’ represent the majority of both consumer and workforce in the US so unsurprising that, like the emergence of ‘brand’ before it, businesses are recognising the value of a considered, designed experience. One that delivers its values in authentic, human tone and understands that loyalty is earned by actions, not words. And just as ‘branding’ struggled to distance itself from ‘corporate identity’, the term ‘experience’ in a design context is also somewhat misunderstood.

The protagonist for me writing this was in response to a LinkedIn thought-piece denouncing ‘Experience Design’, articulately arguing that to claim responsibility for something defined by such personal, intrinsic values is incorrect. To an extent I agree. Experience is an outcome, not a discipline, and no one can design a single experience that is universally interpreted identically.

But perhaps it is also just a matter of perspective. We are all the creators of our own experience —the clothes we wear, the things we say, places we go and people we associate ourselves with— we don’t necessarily ‘design’ each constituent part, but we do curate and exhibit them which, when combined, creates an experience authentic to us. So why can’t a brand or business do the same? And why couldn’t ‘design’ help orchestrate this?

My experience of an organisation isn’t formed by any one of its functions, but rather the convergence of multiple dimensions that creates its experience ecosystem — touchpoints in the form of products and services, spaces, communications and behaviours, all enabled by systems and processes which originate from the values the organisational culture embodies.

A handful of progressive businesses are empowering groups or individuals within their ranks to champion a more human-centric experience ecosystem, corralling their many verticals to think and act holistically and with empathy to their employee and consumers needs. Others are turning to external thought partners (like Eight Inc.) to provide this function; blending business acumen with creativity to challenge ‘BAU’ and deliver a differentiated experience of themselves. So if our role in the creation of this ecosystem isn’t ‘Experience Design’, what it is?

Conventional rational prefers a role to describe its activity. Therefore, if experiences are shaped by the actions of others, should we call ourselves ‘Action designers’? I can hear the hysterics already. Perhaps ‘Experience Architecture’ is a more fitting, humble description? Creating the framework from which a desired emotional outcome is born as opposed to designing the outcome itself.

I’ve never been one for name calling though. Labels are boring and limiting. As ‘experience’ itself is defined by actions not words maybe those of us who consider themselves to be such architects should just call themselves ‘designers’ and let the fruits of our labours, and the imagination of others, create the boxes to place us.

Matt Judge is a Principal in Eight Inc.'s London studio