为了公众利益 - Eight Inc.

为了公众利益

By Jeff Straesser 9月 10, 2015

对于许多非营利组织而言,成长的能力、实现项目目标以及建立公众意识都是他们面临的挑战。这些非营利组织在很大程度上依赖于支持者社团及他们所建立的各种关系。对于非营利组织来说,寻求帮助的一个常见手段就是请求一家营利企业提供公益服务。[i]在该模式中,服务接受者、捐赠者及员工均能够从中受益。

从接受该等服务的非营利组织的角度来看,他们可以因此接触或帮助到更多需要帮助的人士。例如,一家非营利性法律组织可能有10万美元的年度预算,其中10%用于行政管理支出,15%用于筹款开销,75%用于项目活动。由于仅剩下7.5万美元用于项目活动,社区的可用资源因此变得捉襟见肘。然而,在今年年底,公益性捐助可能接近50万美元,使得实际项目预算达到57.5万美元,这样一来,组织可以帮助到更多人士及更好地服务于公众利益。

对于提供公益性服务的捐赠机构而言,整个公司都能从中受益。一家体验设计公司可以凭借其专业服务为非营利组织提供支持,确保项目目标得到实现,从而使组织获得成长。在为基于教育的非营利组织DonorsChoose.org[i]工作时,Eight Inc.提供了一整套无偿设计服务,范围从选址、规划到施工管理。通过该项工作,Eight Inc.获得了实实在在的好处:与社区建立了持久的关系,设计师们接受挑战以新的方式进行思考并发展了能够在个人层面引起共鸣的真正的人际联系。当非营利组织建立起人际联系和情感联系并获得人们的支持时,所产生的力量是相当强大的。

提供这些公益性服务实际上要面临一系列独特的内在挑战。作为一家慈善机构,DonorsChoose.org的新办公室需要具备非常高的成本效率,同时又能够对员工、前来参观拜访的潜在捐赠者以及董事会成员具有吸引力。紧缩的预算被视为是一项需要克服的障碍,而非一个激发创造性的阻碍。我们探索了设计过程中新的、具挑战性的部分;采购和征集捐助的施工材料及设计、现场施工工作。此外,设计工作的公益性质从本质上来讲也具有挑战性,因为项目团队需要通过利用其有限的时间有效地做出决定来学会管理额外的工作量,并制作一套精简但完整的施工图。

通过克服DonorsChoose.org项目的这些局限性,公司所获得的回报远远超过了面临的挑战。该项目成为初级员工体验更多的项目参与、展示、客户互动及现场施工监督的一个学习机会。受DonorsChoose.org的使命以及通过利用他们的人才创造品牌时刻(Chalkboard, Hopscotch和Felt Art)的激励,设计团队帮助该组织以清晰、诚实的方式表达它的个性。在项目的最后,设计团队很高兴地知道他们的创意和劳动受到了DonorsChoose.org全体员工的赞赏及高度重视。

至于为DonorsChoose.org带来的好处,伙伴关系和业务发展部高级副总裁卡罗林纳·马丁(Carolina Martin)说,“得益于Eight Inc.为我们创造的办公空间,我们现在有了一个场所来招待我们的合作伙伴、欢迎教师志愿者,以及举办各种慈善活动,从而筹集更多的资金来建造所需教室。作为一家结构精简的非营利组织,我们专注的是将资金投入教室项目,绝没有能力雇用设计师来创造这样一个能够为我们带来各种机会的令人难以置信的办公空间。由于Eight Inc.的慷慨相助,我们现在有了这样一个空间,可以展示我们的使命并提醒我们的团队我们每天为之努力的目标。”

只要有公共需要,对公益性工作的需求始终都会存在。如果一家公司拥有参与社会公益的预算和资源,其所带来的好处可以说是巨大的,并且有助于该公司及其员工获得进一步的发展。而无偿公益服务实际上也以这样一种方式提供了回馈。

Jeff Straesser is a Studio Director in Eight Inc's New York studio

For the public good - Eight Inc.

For the public good

By Jeff Straesser Sep 10, 2015

For many not-for-profit organizations, the ability to grow, meet programming goals and create awareness is a challenge. They rely heavily on a community of supporters and the relationships that they form. A common way to seek assistance is for the not-for-profit organization to request Pro Bono services from a for-profit company.  In this model, the recipient, the donor and the employees are equally rewarded.

From the perspective of the not-for-profit organization receiving such services, it allows them to increase the number of individuals in need that they reach or help.  For example, a not-for-profit legal organization may have a $100,000 annual budget of which 10% is administrative and overhead, 15% is fundraising and 75% is programming.  With only $75,000 for programming left, the resources for the community become limited.  However, at the end of the year, Pro Bono contributions might equate to almost $500,000– bringing the actual program budget to $575,000 — allowing more people to be helped and the public good is served.

For the donor providing Pro Bono services, the entire company can benefit.  An experience design firm is able to support the not-for-profit with their professional services, ensuring that programming goals are met to enable growth.  With our work for the the education based not-for-profit organization DonorsChoose.org, Eight Inc. provided a complete set of Pro Bono design services, from site selection and planning through construction administration. Through this work, the benefits became tangible: long-lasting relationships were formed with the community, designers were challenged to think in new ways and developed authentic human connections that resonated on a personal level. When there is the human and emotional connection with the not-for-profit and the people supporting it, the result is that much more powerful.

Providing these Pro Bono services came with a unique set of built-in challenges.  As a charity, the new DonorsChoose.org offices needed to be extremely cost efficient while appealing to staff, visiting potential donors and board members. The tight budget was viewed as a obstacle to be overcome rather than a creative hinderance. We explored new and challenging portions of the design process; sourcing and soliciting donated construction materials and design-build site construction work. Additionally, the Pro Bono nature of the design work was internally challenging as the project team learned to manage the additional work load by using their limited time to make decisions efficiently and produce a lean but complete construction drawing set.

By over-coming these limitations for DonorsChoose.org, the rewards far outweighed the challenges. The project became a learning opportunity for junior staff to exercise more project engagement; presenting, client interaction, and on-site construction supervision. Energized by the DonorsChoose.org’s mission and by utilizing their talent to create brand moments (Chalkboard, Hopscotch and Felt Art), the design team helped to express the organization’s personality in a clear and honest way. At the end of the project, the design team was happy, knowing that their creative input and labor was appreciated and highly valued by the entire DonorsChoose.org office staff.

As for the benefits to DonorsChoose.org, Carolina Martin, Senior Vice President, Partnerships and Business Development says, “With an office space created by Eight Inc, we have a place to host our partners, welcome teacher volunteers, and host events that allow us to raise more dollars for classrooms in need. As a lean non-profit, we focus on putting funding back into classrooms and would never have the ability to hire a designer to make such an incredible space that affords us these opportunities. With Eight Inc.’s generosity, we have an office that reflects our mission and reminds our team of what we are working towards every day.”

The need for Pro Bono work will always exist as long as there is public need. If a company has the budget and resources to participate, the benefits are immense and aid in further developing a company and their staff.  In this way, Pro Bono pays.

Jeff Straesser is a Studio Director in Eight Inc's New York studio