The Right to Privacy: Four Ways Design Can Protect You in a Connected World - Eight Inc.

The Right to Privacy: Four Ways Design Can Protect You in a Connected World

By Hector Moll-Carrillo ديسمبر 2, 2015

كل يوم، يظهر تطبيق أو جهاز جديد يعد بمنحنا تحكّماً أكبر في حياتنا. من هذا المنطلق، يتذكّر منظّم الحرارة من “نيست” روتيننا اليومي ليوفّر استهلاك الطاقة في منزلنا. وتؤمن “نايكي” لوحاً للتحكّم بتماريننا الرياضية. وتصطحبنا “أوبر” أينما أردنا الذهاب. وتنصحنا “سيري” تنصحنا بمطعم مجاور لنا. “فيسبوك” يبقينا على اتصال مع أصدقائنا.

غير أنّ هذه الاتصالية المتغلغة في حياتنا اليومية تجعلنا غير محميين. فالأجهزة الإلكترونية التي نحملها والأماكن التي نتردّد إليها تتعقّب موقعنا وهويّتنا ونشاطاتنا. ومع كل نقرة، نترك أثراً رقمياً من البيانات تحصده الشركات وتبيعه، من دون أن ندري أو نعطي موافقتنا المطّلعة. فما من نظام أمنه مؤكّد، ومعظم الأنظمة متهوّرة، وبعضها إجرامي كلياً.

يعتبر الأوروبيون أنّ الخصوصية حقّ إنساني أساسي. وأصدرت محكمة العدل التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي مؤخراً حكماً بأنّ البيانات الشخصية للأوروبيين التي تملكها شركات التكنولوجيا الإلكترونية في الولايات المتحدة الأميركية ليست بمنأى عن أجهزة المراقبة الحكومية الأميركية، معلنةً أنّ “قواعد” الملاذ الآمن بين الاتحاد الأوروبي والولايات المتحدة الأميركية للاحتفاظ بالبيانات الأوروبية في الولايات المتحدة غير صالحة.

في الولايات المتحدة الأميركية، تؤدي الرغبة في السهولة وغياب الوعي إلى بروز مستهلك مستضعف. فعام 2014 مثلاً، قام موقع فيسبوك بتغيير صفحة الأخبار لدى نصف مليون مستخدم لدراسة كيف تنتشر العواطف الإيجابية أو السلبية على مواقع التواصل لاجتماعي. ووجد تقرير صدر مؤخراً عن شركة “أل 2” الاستخبارية حول الشخصنة بأنّ معظم المستهلكين لا يمانعون تزويد العلامات بالمعلومات مقابل الحصول على عروض مستهدفة. كلّما ظننّا أنّنا نحظى بمزيد من التحكّم، نكون في الواقع نفقد التحكّم أكثر فأكثر.

كشفت دراسة أجرتها جامعة كارنيجي ميلون عام 2015 أرقاماً مخيفة: “تمّ تشاطر موقعك 5,398 مرة مع ’فيسبوك‘، و’جروبون‘[…]، وسبعة تطبيقات أخرى في الأيام الـ14 الأخيرة”. وورد في مجلة “تكنولوجي ريفيو” التابعة لمعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولجيا أنّ “هذا يحدث غالباً من دون علم صاحب [الجهاز الإلكتروني]…”

يزداد تقبّلنا للتفاعلات الرقمية التي لا نقبل بها في الحياة الواقعية. مثلاً، قبول الشروط والأحكام من دون قراءتها أولاً. فهل توقّعون على وثيقة قانونية مطبوعة من دون قراءتها؟ هل تعطون معلوماتكم الشخصية والمالية إلى الغرباء؟ نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من الشفافية حول ما يجري في كواليس العالم المتّصل.

كانت كلمة “متّصل” تعني الاتصال الملموس بالكوابل، إلى أن ظهر مفهوم المنتجات القابلة لإعادة التعبئة والمنتجات اللاسلكية. لكن للمفارقة، كلما قلّلنا من الكوابل، زادت الخيوط التي تقيدنا وتربطنا. ففي السابق، كانت الأشياء معلّقة بالجدران. أمّا اليوم، أصبح الناس معلّقين بالسحب بحبال غير مرئية.

إذاً، ما هو دور التصميم في هذا العالم المتّصل المتعطّش أكثر وأكثر إلى البيانات؟

أنا مصمّم تجارب. قد يطلب منّي العميل أن أصمّم تجربة افتراضية، مثلاً التطبيقات للهواتف المتحرّكة. أو تجربة بيئية، كمنزل أو متجر أو متحف حيث يمكن تصفّح ما يرغب المرء في مشاهدته أو الاطلاع على المعلومات عنها أو شراؤه.

غالباً ما يُطبّق التصميم مسبقاً، بحيث يصبح اعتماد المنتجات والخدمات الجديدة سهلاً. ثُم يُرسل المصمّمون إلى منازلهم، ويتركونكم منهكين بخدمات يصعب فهمها والتحكّم بها وإنهاؤها. تخيّلو متجراً يسهل الدخول إليه لكن الخروج منه صعب ومحبط.

قال لي بيل موجريدج، الذي كان رائداً في مجال التصميم المتمحور حول المستخدم، منذ سنوات: “بصفتك مصمّماً، مسؤوليتك الأولى هي المستخدم النهائي”. ويقول تيم كوبي، مؤسّس شركة ’إيت‘ ورئيسها التنفيذي: “يجب أن يُفرح عملنا المستخدم أولاً وينفعه”. ونعني بالعمل المتمحور حول المستخدم أن نعمل نيابة عنكم، أي المواطنين المستهلكين. لا يجدر بنا أبداً أن نضعكم في مواقف تدفعكم فيها الرغبة أو المصلحة أو الضرورة إلى التخلّي عن مصلحتكم الذاتية الأفضل لكم.

بصفتنا مصمّمين، يجدر بنا أن نفهم بوضوح النتائج ومسؤوليتنا في هذا العالم المتًّصل. فخلال جلسة مناقشة انعقدت في معهد جوته في سان فرانسيسكو، طرح توماس شولتز من مجلة “دير شبيجل” هذا السؤال: “هل من الممكن تصميم منتجات بشكل يشمل الموافقة”؟ أجابه داني أوبرايان، المدير العالمي لمؤسسة الحدود الإلكترونية: “كان أمامنا 20 عاماً لتصحيح هذه المشاكل ولم نفعل… لكن يجب علينا أن نواصل المحاولة.”

تسألون كيف؟ على غرار الهندسة المعمارية، يستطيع التصميم تأمين الشفافية والعتامة، من خلال نوافذ وجدران وأبواب ذكية تؤمّن مناظر ملفتة وقابلة للتحكّم للعالم وللذات. ولتجنّب الإساءة، يجدر بالمصمّمين والقطاع وصنّاع السياسات أن يشجّعوا الإجراءات الوقائية الأربعة للتصميم المتّصل.

1. التماثل. إعادة التوازن الغائب بين المستهلك (الذي يستفيد قليلاً) وبين مزوّدي السلع والخدمات (الذين يستفيدون كثيراً) بشكل مبتكَر. فيجب أن يوافق موقع فيسبوك على “شروطكم وأحكامكم” أنتم، فيبادلكم اتفاقيته. نحن بحاجة إلى وضع شروط وأحكام يحدّدها المستهلك نفسه.

2. الاستخبارات. تطبيق الاستخبارات الاصطناعية والشخصية والاجتماعية على الخصوصية. يجب أن تطلب “سيري” من نظام واتسون الفكري أن يحلّل اتفاقيتَي الشروط والأحكام المذكورتين أعلاه، في غضون أجزاء من الثانية، قبل تقديم النصائح، وطرح البدائل والتصنيفات عبر الاستعانة بالجماهير.

3. الإبطال. تقديم خيارات لفحص واستعادة وإلغاء أي بيانات شخصية ومالية ومعلومات عن الاستخدام من أي تطبيق أو خدمة طلبت أو استخدمت أو سجّلت هذه البيانات، وتأكيد ذلك. يطلق الأوروبيون على هذا الخيار اسم “حقّ الإنسان بأن يُنتسى”.

4. الاحتواء: تطوير بروتوكولات لاحتضان البيانات وتشفيرها بشكل يفرض الملكية والتصريح وانتهاء صلاحية البيانات. إذا جرّبتم تطبيقاً أو خدمة لأيام معدودة، لمَ تحتفظ ببياناتكم إلى الأبد؟

مهمّتنا أن نصمّم تجارب تعود بالنفع على عملائنا وعلى مستهلكي منتجاتهم وخدماتهم سواءً. التصميم السليم يجب أن ينشئ علاقات قائمة على المتعة والثقة، وليس الشكّ والإحباط. في النهاية، تركّز قرارات التصميم التي نتّخذها على المصالح الأفضل للمستخدم النهائي. وعلى المدى الطويل، هذه أيضاً أفضل طريقة لنخدم عملاءنا.

علينا الآن تطبيق فلسفة تصميم التجارب المتكاملة التي بدأها ستيف جوبز على نظام متكامل من المنتجات والخدمات والأماكن المتّصلة من أجل الحرص على أن يجمع عالمنا المتّصل والمترابط بين الإنصاف والأمن والخصوصية، وإلا وجدنا نفسنا نعيش في عالم الواقع المرير الذي توقّعه الكاتب جورج أورويل في كتابه 1984، لكن بشكل أفظع وبوقت أبكر ممّا نتوقع.

Hector Moll-Carrillo is a Director in Eight Inc's San Francisco studio

The Right to Privacy: Four Ways Design Can Protect You in a Connected World - Eight Inc.

The Right to Privacy: Four Ways Design Can Protect You in a Connected World

By Hector Moll-Carrillo Dec 2, 2015

Every day, a new app or device promises to give us more control over our lives. Nest’s connected thermostat learns our routines to save energy in our homes. Nike provides a dashboard for our workouts. Uber gets us wherever we need to go. Siri recommends a nearby restaurant. Facebook keeps us in touch with our friends.

Yet this pervasive connectedness exposes us. The gadgets we carry and the places we frequent track our location, identity and activities. With every click, we leave a digital trail of data that companies harvest and resell, without our knowledge or informed consent. No system is foolproof in its security, many are reckless, and some are entirely criminal.

Europeans believe privacy is a fundamental human right. The EU Court of Justice recently ruled that the personal data of Europeans held in America by online tech corporations is not safe from U.S. government surveillance—declaring the EU-U.S. “safe harbor” rules for retaining European data in the US to be invalid.

In the U.S., convenience and lack of awareness breed vulnerable consumers. In 2014, Facebook altered news feeds of half a million users to examine how positive or negative emotions can be spread on social media. And a recent L2 Intelligence Report on Personalization found that close to half of consumers don’t mind giving brands information in exchange for targeted offers. The more control we think we’re getting, the more we actually are giving up.

A 2015 Carnegie Mellon University study reveals alarming statistics: “Your location has been shared 5,398 times with Facebook, Groupon […] and seven other apps in the last 14 days.” MIT’s Technology Review reports this “often takes place without the [gadget] owner being aware…”

We increasingly accept digital interactions that we would find intolerable in real life. For example, accepting Terms & Conditions unread. Would you sign a printed legal document without reading it? Would you offer personal and financial information to strangers? We need more transparency into what’s going on behind the scenes in the connected world.

“Connected” used to mean physically plugging in with cables, until rechargeable and wireless sent products wandering. Paradoxically the more cables we cut, the more strings are attached. Before, things were tied to walls. Now people are invisibly wired to clouds.

So, what is the role of design in this connected and increasingly data hungry world?

I am an experience designer. A client might ask me to design a virtual experience like an app for your phone. Or an environmental experience like a home, store, or museum where you browse, consider what to admire, learn about or buy.

Design is often applied up front, making the adoption of new products and services easy. Designers are then sent home—leaving you enmeshed with services that are difficult to understand, control or terminate. Imagine a store easy to enter but frustratingly difficult to exit.

Bill Moggridge, who pioneered user-centric design, told me years ago: “As a designer your first responsibility is to the end user.” And Tim Kobe, Founder and CEO of Eight Inc., is unequivocal: “Our work must delight and reward the user first.” User-centric means we work on your behalf: the citizen-consumer. We should never place you in situations where desire, convenience or necessity push you to forgo your best self-interest.

As designers, we must clearly understand the implications and our responsibilities in this connected world. At a Goethe Institute panel in San Francisco, Der Spiegel magazine’s Thomas Schulz asked: “Can products be designed to include consent?” Danny O’Brien, International Director for the Electronic Frontier Foundation, commented: “We’ve had 20 years to create those fixes and we haven’t… But we must keep at it.”

How? Like architecture, design can provide transparency and opacity—smart windows, walls, doors—that afford desirable, controllable views of world and self. To prevent abuse, designers, industry and policymakers should together champion four Connected Design Safeguards.

1. Symmetry. Inventively redress the asymmetry between consumers (who benefit a little) and providers of goods and services (who benefit enormously). Facebook should agree to your Terms & Conditions, reciprocating your agreement to theirs. We need consumer-side T&Cs.

2. Intelligence. Apply artificial, personal and social intelligence to privacy. Siri should ask Watson to analyze both T&Cs mentioned above—in microseconds—and counsel you, offering alternatives and crowd-sourced rankings.

3. Revocability. Provide options to examine, retrieve and delete—with confirmation—any personal, financial and usage information from any app or service that originally requested, used or recorded such information. Europeans call it the “right to be forgotten”.

4. Containment. Develop data encapsulation and encryption protocols enforcing ownership, permission and expiration. If you try an app or service for a few days, why should they keep your data forever?

Our job is to design experiences that benefit both our clients and the consumers of their products and services. Good design should create relationships built on enjoyment and trust, not suspicion and frustration. Ultimately the design decisions we make focus on the best interests of the end user. And in the long run, that’s also the best way to serve our clients.

Steve Jobs’ end-to-end experience design philosophy must now be applied to an integrated system of connected products, services and places that puts users in control. Designers must do our part to ensure our connected world combines fairness, safety and privacy. Or George Orwell’s 1984 dystopia may yet arrive, more terrible, and much sooner than we realize.

Hector Moll-Carrillo is a Director in Eight Inc's San Francisco studio