隐私权:设计确保你在这个相互联系的世界里安全无虞的四个方法 - Eight Inc.

隐私权:设计确保你在这个相互联系的世界里安全无虞的四个方法

By Hector Moll-Carrillo 12月 2, 2015

几乎每天都有新的应用软件或工具面世,这些新的应用软件和工具向我们承诺:只要有了它们,我们就可以更加得心应手地安排自己的生活。与Nest相连接的恒温器有助于我们在家居生活中节省能源;Nike向我们显示身体运动数据;Uber可载我们到要去的任何地方;Siri可向我们推荐附近合意的餐馆;Facebook则使我们与朋友保持联系。

然而,这种无处不在的联系将我们的一举一动暴露无遗。我们随身携带的应用工具和常去的地方会暴露我们的位置、身份和活动。我们每点击一下,这些公司就会获得并转售我们的信息,这都是在我们没有意识到或未经我们知情同意的情形下发生的。没有任何一种系统在安全方面是万无一失的,许多系统是粗疏的,有些是完全犯罪性的。

欧洲人认为隐私是基本人权。欧盟法院最近做出判决,认为美国在线信息技术公司持有的欧洲人个人数据并不能免于美国政府监视,宣布关于美国保存欧洲数据的欧美“安全港”规则是无效的。

在美国,消费者往往因贪图方便和不了解有关情况而处于弱势地位。2014年,Facebook改变了五十万用户的信息流,旨在检验正面情绪和负面情绪在社交媒体上的传播方式。L2 Intelligence最近发布的《个性化报告》发现,近一半消费者不介意提供品牌信息以获得针对性的优惠。我们认为获得的控制权越多,实际上却放弃的越多。

卡内基梅隆大学2015年进行的一项研究表露了惊人的统计数据:“在最近14天里,你的位置在Facebook、Groupon [……]和其他七个应用软件上被共享了5,398次。”麻省理工学院《技术评论》杂志报道说,这“通常是在[应用工具]的所有者没有意识到的情形下发生的……”

我们日益接受数字式互动,然而这种互动是我们在现实生活中不可容忍的。例如,未经阅读就接受某些条款和条件。在现实生活中,你是否不经阅读就签署法律性文件?你是否会向陌生人提供自己的个人信息和财务信息?对于这个相互联系的世界幕后发生的事情,我们需要更多的透明性。

“连接”一词过去是指用缆线连接,直到接通后通过无线发送的信息能够在网上自由传播。吊诡的是,我们省下的缆线越多,我们使用的无线连接方式就越多。以前,一切 都要依赖连接到墙壁上的缆线,而现在,人们 通过看不见的方式将其连接到云。

如此说来,在这个相互联系且日益急切地需要数据的世界上,设计的作用是什么?

我是一名有经验的设计师,可能会有客户要求我为其手机设计某种应用软件之类的虚拟体验,或根据你的欣赏、了解或购买意愿设计便于你浏览的家居、商店或博物馆之类的环境体验。

设计通常预先适用,以便新产品或新服务易于被人们接受。这样一来,设计师省事了,但使用户面对难以理解、控制或终止的服务而无所适从。请想象一下一家很容易进入却很难走出的商店是什么样子吧。

比尔·莫格里奇率先探索以用户为中心的设计模式,他在数年前告诉我:“作为一名设计师,你首先要对终端用户负责。”蒂姆·考博是Eight Inc.的创始人兼首席执行官,他毫不含糊地说:“我们的工作必须首先使客户高兴并使其觉得有价值。”以用户为中心是指我们是为作为公民和消费者的你而工作。我们绝不会令你因为某种期望、便利或需要而被迫放弃自身的真正利益。

作为设计师,我们必须明确了解这个相互联系的世界对我们意味着什么以及我们自身的责任。德国歌德学院在圣弗兰西斯科举行的一个专题讨论中,《明镜》杂志的托马斯·舒尔茨发问道:“在设计产品时能否将用户的赞同考虑进去?”电子前沿基金会国际部主任丹尼·奥伯里恩评论道:“我们20年来一直在致力于解决这个问题,我们尚未……但我们始终在坚持。”

怎么办?如同建筑一样,在设计应用工具时,首先应当考虑哪些地方应该透明,哪些地方不应该透明——应采用智能化的门窗和墙壁,使人能看到他/她期望看到的、可控制的关于外界和自我的景致。为防止不当设计,设计师、本行业和决策者应协力倡导四个相互联系的设计保障。

1. 对称性 创造性的矫正消费者(他们受益甚少) 和产品与服务的提供者(他们受益甚多)之间的不对称性。Facebook应当同意你的条款和条件,作为你同意他们的条款和条件的回报。我们需要设身处地为消费者考虑的条款和条件(T&Cs)。

2. 智能性  应将人造的个人和社交智能手段应用于隐私保护领域。Siri应确保Watson在几微秒的时间内对上述T&Cs做出分析并向你提供建议方案和众包排名。

3. 可废止性  提供备选项,以便用户对应用工具或服务刚才要求、使用或记录的用户个人、财务和操作信息进行检查、检索,并在经确认的前提下予以删除。欧洲人将其称为“遗忘权”。

4. 封存  开发数据封装和加密协议,以确保数据的所有权、同意权和到期权。如果某款应用工具或服务你只是试用了几天,为什么它要永久保留你的数据?

我们的工作是恰当设计,使我们的客户及其产品和服务的消费者拥有良好的使用体验。良好的设计能够赢得用户的喜爱和信任,避免疑虑和失望。归根结底,我们的设计应将重点集中于终端用户的最大利益。从长期角度看,这也是我们服务客户的最佳方式。

时至今日,斯蒂夫·乔布斯的端对端体验设计理念必须适用到用户拥有控制权的、由相互联系的产品、服务和地点组成的统一系统。设计师在这个相互联系的世界必须确保公平性、安全性和隐私性。否则,乔治·奥威尔《1984》中描绘的反乌托邦仍有可能不期而至,而且比我们预想的更恐怖、更令我们猝不及防。

Hector Moll-Carrillo is a Director in Eight Inc's San Francisco studio

The Right to Privacy: Four Ways Design Can Protect You in a Connected World - Eight Inc.

The Right to Privacy: Four Ways Design Can Protect You in a Connected World

By Hector Moll-Carrillo Dec 2, 2015

Every day, a new app or device promises to give us more control over our lives. Nest’s connected thermostat learns our routines to save energy in our homes. Nike provides a dashboard for our workouts. Uber gets us wherever we need to go. Siri recommends a nearby restaurant. Facebook keeps us in touch with our friends.

Yet this pervasive connectedness exposes us. The gadgets we carry and the places we frequent track our location, identity and activities. With every click, we leave a digital trail of data that companies harvest and resell, without our knowledge or informed consent. No system is foolproof in its security, many are reckless, and some are entirely criminal.

Europeans believe privacy is a fundamental human right. The EU Court of Justice recently ruled that the personal data of Europeans held in America by online tech corporations is not safe from U.S. government surveillance—declaring the EU-U.S. “safe harbor” rules for retaining European data in the US to be invalid.

In the U.S., convenience and lack of awareness breed vulnerable consumers. In 2014, Facebook altered news feeds of half a million users to examine how positive or negative emotions can be spread on social media. And a recent L2 Intelligence Report on Personalization found that close to half of consumers don’t mind giving brands information in exchange for targeted offers. The more control we think we’re getting, the more we actually are giving up.

A 2015 Carnegie Mellon University study reveals alarming statistics: “Your location has been shared 5,398 times with Facebook, Groupon […] and seven other apps in the last 14 days.” MIT’s Technology Review reports this “often takes place without the [gadget] owner being aware…”

We increasingly accept digital interactions that we would find intolerable in real life. For example, accepting Terms & Conditions unread. Would you sign a printed legal document without reading it? Would you offer personal and financial information to strangers? We need more transparency into what’s going on behind the scenes in the connected world.

“Connected” used to mean physically plugging in with cables, until rechargeable and wireless sent products wandering. Paradoxically the more cables we cut, the more strings are attached. Before, things were tied to walls. Now people are invisibly wired to clouds.

So, what is the role of design in this connected and increasingly data hungry world?

I am an experience designer. A client might ask me to design a virtual experience like an app for your phone. Or an environmental experience like a home, store, or museum where you browse, consider what to admire, learn about or buy.

Design is often applied up front, making the adoption of new products and services easy. Designers are then sent home—leaving you enmeshed with services that are difficult to understand, control or terminate. Imagine a store easy to enter but frustratingly difficult to exit.

Bill Moggridge, who pioneered user-centric design, told me years ago: “As a designer your first responsibility is to the end user.” And Tim Kobe, Founder and CEO of Eight Inc., is unequivocal: “Our work must delight and reward the user first.” User-centric means we work on your behalf: the citizen-consumer. We should never place you in situations where desire, convenience or necessity push you to forgo your best self-interest.

As designers, we must clearly understand the implications and our responsibilities in this connected world. At a Goethe Institute panel in San Francisco, Der Spiegel magazine’s Thomas Schulz asked: “Can products be designed to include consent?” Danny O’Brien, International Director for the Electronic Frontier Foundation, commented: “We’ve had 20 years to create those fixes and we haven’t… But we must keep at it.”

How? Like architecture, design can provide transparency and opacity—smart windows, walls, doors—that afford desirable, controllable views of world and self. To prevent abuse, designers, industry and policymakers should together champion four Connected Design Safeguards.

1. Symmetry. Inventively redress the asymmetry between consumers (who benefit a little) and providers of goods and services (who benefit enormously). Facebook should agree to your Terms & Conditions, reciprocating your agreement to theirs. We need consumer-side T&Cs.

2. Intelligence. Apply artificial, personal and social intelligence to privacy. Siri should ask Watson to analyze both T&Cs mentioned above—in microseconds—and counsel you, offering alternatives and crowd-sourced rankings.

3. Revocability. Provide options to examine, retrieve and delete—with confirmation—any personal, financial and usage information from any app or service that originally requested, used or recorded such information. Europeans call it the “right to be forgotten”.

4. Containment. Develop data encapsulation and encryption protocols enforcing ownership, permission and expiration. If you try an app or service for a few days, why should they keep your data forever?

Our job is to design experiences that benefit both our clients and the consumers of their products and services. Good design should create relationships built on enjoyment and trust, not suspicion and frustration. Ultimately the design decisions we make focus on the best interests of the end user. And in the long run, that’s also the best way to serve our clients.

Steve Jobs’ end-to-end experience design philosophy must now be applied to an integrated system of connected products, services and places that puts users in control. Designers must do our part to ensure our connected world combines fairness, safety and privacy. Or George Orwell’s 1984 dystopia may yet arrive, more terrible, and much sooner than we realize.

Hector Moll-Carrillo is a Director in Eight Inc's San Francisco studio