从展示厅到全方位厅:奢华式零售的兴起 - Eight Inc.

从展示厅到全方位厅:奢华式零售的兴起

By Matt Judge 8月 15, 2013

卖,卖,卖。这曾经是零售业务的要素。展示厅为商品销售提供支援,引导消费者去交易。它们在繁华闹市的存在就像品牌之锚,其所担当的合理性得到切实保障,新兴电子零售商根本无法企及。

物换星移。将时光快速进入现时,亚马逊已经成功的在网上购物的商业模式中占尽先机,没有凭借商店橱窗就成为最受喜爱和信赖的品牌之一。在买家市场,当价格是唯一的差异点时,低价者永远占上风。

inline-521477b92e207-500-375

传统与科技交锋的故事不再新鲜,十多年来的案例比比皆是。值得一提的失利者包括英国High-Street的前任大牌MFI和Woolworths。毫无疑问,这些机构失败的原因不单单存在于零售策略层面,至少有部分原因在于他们没能“对正下药“。本应当专注于“我们该如何吸引客户?”之时,他们却一直试图解答:‘我们该如何以价格和便利作为基准进行竞争?’

当Eight Inc.与苹果及其极富远见的创始人史蒂夫·乔布斯开创全球零售概念之时,出发点并不是将项目视为“零售”设计,而是视之为品牌体验。

与以每平方英尺销售额衡量成功的零售潮流相悖的是,空间并不用于售卖,而是用于与消费者进行互动。Eight Inc.认识到,销售额在苹果消费者与其产品之间的关系只占很小的比例,取而代之的是围绕着此关系的一切:发现、鼓励,支持感受。

苹果的零售空间成为其品牌价值的延伸。一个可以不受限接触产品,鼓励探索的开放空间。演讲厅举办有关教育与激励的免费活动。以及能够前所未有地与揭秘产品体验“天才们”面对面。

inline-521477cb7019f-500-375

打造全方位渠道已成为苹果成功案例的另一个重要组成部分。虽然传统式孤岛在老式、灵活性不佳的企业安之若怡,但这并不能转化给将每个品牌‘瞬间“视为整体之和的消费者; 整个环境的照明细节重现“柔光”演播室的灯光,因此产品的现实体现了它的营销;将品牌的数字体验融入其实体之内,使用iPhone和App来浏览商店并进行交易。

这个概念一经推出就引来高调的批评。“我给他们两年时间,他们会在两年内放弃这个代价高昂、历经曲折的惨痛错误。”(彭博, 2001) 。 这样将其所不能理解的新策略解释为虚荣。2010年,同一刊物报道第5大道店的成功时称“每平方英尺一辆奔驰……这或许是历史上最卖座的零售店”。

显而易见,苹果“不同凡想”方式的影响力横扫整个零售业。除了在塑造自身’领袖’中调整天才理念之外,电信网络O2已将服务置于其理念的核心,抛弃了旧有的销售驱动策略。而有了“优先时刻(Priority Moments)”这类计划,他们已经在实体与数字之间架起桥梁,创造出品牌与本地环境关联的新途径,而不仅仅是将其自身融入社区,而是也帮助对其进行塑造。

我在最近的一次演讲时遇到了Telefonica全方位渠道负责人Simon Smith,他在那次演讲中谈到了连接时刻。对于O2而言,其不仅仅是拥有一部手机,而是你用一个真正激励他们(其并非将房子变成家园的石头)并将他们的客户与品牌关联的东西能够做些什么。任何竞争对手都可以卖给你一个最新款的手机,然后在从更为感性的东西上要价。这些连接时刻奠定塑造了关系以及忠诚度(如果始终如一的话)。

回到‘现代与传统’上来,它不仅仅在于架起实体和数字之间的桥梁:前者需要向后者学习。品牌的实体空间需要开始越来越像他们的数码同行一样行事,欢迎测试而不抵制根据用户反馈与需求的转变对形式和功能进行修改。这并不是说用闪闪发光的屏幕填充所有可用空间。

试想一下,索尼将音频和摄影工作室加入到自己的旗舰店里,为其产品的发烧友在非商业激情项目上的使用大开绿灯。

如果Bupa加入我们所生活的网络世界,并打造一种与耐克+、数独等同步,提供饮食建议,强调生存技巧和思维训练,对活跃和受到鼓舞的成员进行奖励的生活方式产品,这将会怎样。

一旦银行成为当地社区的宝贵支柱。如果汇丰网点将银行服务回归到其本质,更像是社区中心一样行事,并为其客户提供办公桌轮用空间和社会性集中服务将会怎样。是不是就会成为真正的全球本地银行?

苹果类别至上的挑战者三星怎样才能像苹果一样,不但吸引其消费者热衷产品,还要热爱其品牌?

伟大的产品胜于一切,但当产品和服务变得越来越相似的时候,通过它的行为和信念将其与竞争对手区别开来甚至更为重要。当实体空间被设计成为奢华以及与背景和消费者核心连接的整体品牌体验的延伸,真正让人眼前一亮的时刻就会出现。

问题不是如何进行零售竞争;而是其将如何发展演进。如何将其展示厅转变为全方位厅?解决这一问题的品牌终将赢得未来。

Matt Judge is Principal of Eight Inc's London studio

From showrooms to do-rooms: The rise of generous retail - Eight Inc.

From showrooms to do-rooms: The rise of generous retail

By Matt Judge Aug 15, 2013

Sell, sell, sell. That used to be the point of retail spaces. Showrooms championing commodity, funneling customers toward a transaction. Their presence on the high street was an anchor for the brand, promising a tangible assurance of legitimacy that the emerging e-tailers couldn’t offer.

But times change. Fast-forward to the present and Amazon have blazed a trail for others looking to take advantage of the more agile business model that online shopping permits, becoming one of the most loved and trusted brands without so much as a shop window. In a buyers’ market, when price is the only differentiator, the lowest bidder invariably wins.

inline-521477b92e207-500-375

The click versus brick story isn’t new, and the repercussions have been felt for over a decade. Notable scalps include such former stalwarts of the High Street in the UK as MFI and Woolworths. Undoubtedly the problems in those organisations were rooted deeper than the retail strategy alone, but their failure was due, in part at least, to the fact they were trying to answer the wrong question. They were worrying about ‘How can we compete?’ with price and convenience as benchmarks, when they should have been focusing on ‘How can we engage?’

When Eight Inc. collaborated with Apple and its visionary founder Steve Jobs to create their global retail concept, the starting point was not to consider the project as ‘retail’ design, but as a brand experience.

Against the trend in retail, where success was measured in sales per square feet, space was used not to sell but to interact with customers. 8 recognized that sales represented such a small percentage of the relationship between Apple’s customers and their product, and instead focused on everything else that surrounded that — a sense of discovery, inspiration and support.

Apple’s retail space became an extension of their brand values. An open space with unrestricted exposure to product, encouraging discovery. Lecture theatres hosting free events to educate and inspire. And unprecedented access to ‘geniuses’ that demystified the product experience.

inline-521477cb7019f-500-375

Being omni-channel has been another critical component in the Apple success story. While traditional silos sit comfortably in older, less agile businesses, this doesn’t translate to a customer who views each ‘moment’ with the brand as just a fraction of the sum of the whole; from the detailing of all lighting throughout the environment to recreate ‘softbox’ studio lighting, so the product reality mirrored its marketing; to blending the brands digital experience into its physical, using an iPhone and App to navigate the store and transact.

When the concept launched it attracted high profile critics. “I give them two years before they’re turning out the lights on a very painful and expensive mistake” Bloomberg cried, interpreting it as vanity without understanding the emerging strategy. In 2010, the same publication reported the success of the 5th Avenue store as “A Mercedes per square foot… Probably the highest grossing retail store in history”.

The influence of Apple’s ‘Think Different’ approach across the retail category is evident. Alongside adapting the Genius concept in the shape of their own ‘Gurus’, telecommunications network O2 has placed service at the heart of its concept, moving away from the sales-driven strategy of old. And with schemes like ‘Priority Moments’, they have bridged the gap between physical and digital and created new ways for the brand to be relevant in a local context, not just integrating itself into a community but also helping shape it.

I met Simon Smith, head of Omni-channel at Telefonica, at a recent speaking event, where he talked about moments of connection. For O2 it’s not about owning a phone, it’s about what you can do with one that really excites them (it’s not the stone that makes a house a home) and connects their customers to the brand. Any competitor can sell you a the latest handset, so make the offer about something more emotive. Those moments of connection build relationships and, if delivered consistently, loyalty.

Back to ‘clicks and bricks’, it’s not just about bridging the gap between physical and digital: the former needs to learn from the latter. Brands’ physical spaces need to start behaving more like their digital counterparts, embracing beta and being less resistant to change, with form and function evolving along with user feedback and needs. That doesn’t mean filling all available space with glossy screens.

Imagine Sony integrating audio and photographic studios into their flagships, free for all their product enthusiasts to use for non-commercial passion projects.

What if Bupa embraced the hyper-connected world we live in and made a lifestyle product that, syncing with Nike Plus, Sudoku and the like, delivered dietary advice, stress survival tips and mind exercises, rewarding it’s members for being both active and stimulated.

Once banks were valued pillars for their local community. What if HSBC’s branches took banking back to its roots, behaving more like community centers and offering hot-desking space and social focussed-service to it’s clients. Wouldn’t that really be the worlds local bank?

How can Samsung, the challenger to Apple’s category supremacy, get it’s customers to not only engage with, but love its brand, the same way that Apple’s do?

Great product trumps most things, but as products and services become more alike, it’s even more important to distinguish a company from its competition through its behaviours and beliefs. When physical spaces are designed as extensions of such, whole branded experiences with generosity and connection to both context and customer at their core, truly amazing moments occur.

The question is not how does retail compete; it’s how does it evolve. How does it turn its showrooms into do-rooms? The brands that figure that out will own the future.

Matt Judge is Principal of Eight Inc's London studio